Helena River Steiner School is overseen by a Board which meets monthly and is bound by a Constitution. Our Constitution can be accessed here.

The role of the Board is to supervise compliance with the relevant laws and regulations, assess and manage risk, govern finance and develop and maintain the strategic direction of the School.

The Board members are elected by the School Association during the AGM and govern for a two-year period. All fee-paying parents are members of the Association, as are staff and also members of the community willing to abide by the objects of the Association. All members of the Association are notified of the date for the AGM three weeks in advance and invited to attend.

2020 Annual Report
The 2020 Annual Report is available to be viewed here

2021 Board Members

Peter Fern - Chairperson

  • Secretary of the WA Branch of the Anthroposophical Society
  • Prison Officer

Peter has been a member of the Board and the Helena River Steiner School community since its inception and is aware of the need for Anthroposophy for the adults in the school community.

After attending high school in Midland he is keen to further establish a Steiner Educational offering in the Midland area.

Gladstone Davies - Board Member

  • Retired Mineralogist
  • PhD Geology, (Applied Mineralogy) University of Witwatersrand, 1983
  • BSc (Hons), Geology, University of Witwatersrand, 1974
  • BSc (Geology, Chemistry), University of Witwatersrand, 1973
  • Member of the Anthroposophical Society of Australia

Gladstone has 40 years’ experience working in Government, Higher Education and Private Industry in the areas of Research and Mining Development. Mining and processing experience in managing people, reporting analysis of data, and working with multidisciplinary teams.

He believes that Rudolph Steiner's view of educating a child is true, and offering Steiner Education to as many children as possible will produce a freer, balanced and more engaged society in the future.

Adam Lee - Board Member 

  • Project Manager (Civil Construction)

Adam has more than seven years experience in project management in civil construction for both metro and mining project. He was involved in construction of some of the most iconic works such as the North Fremantle Quay upgrade and Sydney Harbour Bridge remediation works. He has strong critical reasoning and construction management skills.

Adam has recently started exploring education related philosophy and ways of giving back to community via education. He has joined the Helena River Steiner School Board to gain insights into how a growing school operates and feels his skills will be important during the school's relocation project.

Ralph Witschge - Board Member 

  • Retired public servant
  • Workplace investigation and compliance
  • Workplace relations
  • Performance management planning and development
  • Certification of Industrial Advocacy
  • Associate Diploma of Business (Administration)

Having worked in ER/HR for more than 30 years, Ralph has regularly been required to use his negotiation skills to resolve complex issues. He has extensive experience in recruiting senior executives and general staff. Ralph also has a detailed knowledge of Industrial Relations through the management and interpretation of Awards and Agreements.

Ralph is keen to stay active in his retirement and impart his knowledge and experience to a worth organisation. He is pleased to be able to provide assistance to Helena River Steiner School.

Jennifer James - Board Member

  • International Postgraduate Medical Training, 2015
  • Quality Assurance Manager and Pharmacist NZ, 2007
  • Goethean Studies, 1999
  • Studies in Anthroposophy, 1996
  • Bachelor of Pharmacy, 1975

Jennifer was drawn to Waldorf Education through the beauty and creativity she saw in the classrooms, through her work at the Royal London Homoeophathic Hospital. Once she had children, she started a Waldorf / Steiner Playgroup so her children would benefit from the tecahings and values offered. This led to a long association with Steiner education in Perth and New Zealand.

To contact the Board, please email our Chairperson -